Read to Succeed

December 18, 2007

Today kicks off the “Twenty Five Books” campaign at the school where I work. Everyone will be asked to read twenty five books between now and June. Lists will be posted in homerooms for us to keep track of every book we, and if applicable, our students read over the next six months.

Each day, students and staff are supposed to wear something related to reading. Today, it’s sweat pants and sweatshirts. Dressing comfortably is supposed to indicate that reading is a leisurely activity, not just something you have to do in school.

I won’t be participating today because I’m playing hooky and going to New York City with Rebecca. I really enjoy going to the city during the holidays, or any other time, actually. (LeAnn, you are mistaken in thinking that I don’t like to go into the city. I love it. But, because of my health, not to mention the expense, I’m not able to go as often as I’d like. These trips take a lot out of me, physically and financially. Fortunately, I’ve feeling pretty peppy lately, and am ready to do lots of walking!)

Our plans are to see the Kaleidoscope Light Show at Grand Central Station, the tree at Rockefeller Center, the windows at Saks, (you might have to click the start button on that video clip) and a visit to St. Patrick’s Cathedral. (Rebecca has never been there!) Other than that, we are just going to go where our feet lead us. I’m very much looking forward to this trip.

Back to the reading campaign. Tomorrow is “Wear Your Favorite Literary Quote” Day. I don’t have a favorite quote, but there is one that sticks in my mind, so that’s the one I am going to use. It’s the first sentence of Back When We Were Grownups, by Ann Tyler: “Once upon a time, there was a woman who discovered that she had turned into the wrong person.”

That quote really resonates with me. In fact, I once wrote an entry around it, but that was back in the Diary-X days, so I can’t link to it. However, I did recycle some of into this entry at DiaryLand.

On Thursday, we are supposed to wear something that represents punctuation. I’d like to be a question mark, but don’t have any idea how to go about doing that, so I probably won’t participate that day.

On Friday, the week’s activities will culminate in a pep rally. We are supposed to dress up as one of our favorite literary characters. At first, I was going to be Moby Dick, but I couldn’t come up with a decent costume.

After considering many other possibilities, I finally decided to be Rubeus Hagrid from the Harry Potter series. I couldn’t afford this mask, so I got this wig and beard, instead.

I have to go get ready for my day in New York City, but before I leave, I want to leave you with this link to a cute article Bradford Anderson sent me. I took special note of the reporter declaring, “I was looking better, my skin began to glow…” (Remember my co-worker’s comment about me “glowing?” Maybe it’s true!)

Song of the Day: Everyday I Write the Book by Elvis Costello

10 Responses to “Read to Succeed”

  1. I am going to our big city tomorrow but I won’t see anything like you will. What fun.

  2. Jeanette said

    Sounds like a fun time. I have never been there but I know someone who lives in Brooklyn and am hoping for a invitation someday!

  3. Sasha said

    I hope you have fun!

  4. LeAnn said

    Oh, it’s sounds like a dream!!! I understands your reasons for not getting to the city often. It’s the same reasons I don’t go, even though I’m thousands of miles away. I hope so much that you take lots of pics!! BTW, I think I’ve seen t shirts with nuthin but a ? on them? If they do have them, they’re probably not so easy to find though!! I know you and Rebecca are going to have a great day!!!! I can’t wait to read about it!!!

  5. If only I had known earlier. I have a scarf with question marks all over it from the 80’s (?)
    Maybe I could send it to you for next year…let me know.
    I hope you had a wonderful time in NYC and it will be interesting to see how you feel the day after the big adventure…..should be a great indication if the juice is working for you.

  6. Michael said

    That’s a great quote, from a good book by one of my favorite authors. Hope you have a great day in the city.

  7. Sunshyn said

    If I go to “the Big City,” it would be San Francisco. Which I’d do if I could walk. But there’s no magic juice to fix a loose hip, unfortunately. Too bad they can’t just go in there and tighten it up, but wrenches don’t work on this sort of thing. Sigh. I’d love to take Roo to the snow, but snow and I don’t get along at all.

  8. Carole said

    I just posted a review of Back When We Were Grownups on our blog (http://book-lovers-get-your-english-on.blogspot.com/2007/12/back-when-we-were-grownups.html. Check it out. I agree that the opening line really catches your attention. It made the list of top 100 opening lines for a book.

  9. It has been so long since I headed into NYC for the holiday fun. I can’t even remember the last time I was there. Have a great time!!

    Scott H’s school is doing the Six Flags Six Hour Reading Club. Since the child always has a nose in a book, thsi should be easy for him…as long as we remember to log it into the chart!!

    OK…I sent a notify out yesterday for my entry I did…did you get that one??? I added another of my email addies to the list to see if I got one (I figured I was getting them before since I was the owner even though no one else was) and I did..so hopefully the rest of the list got one too!!

  10. mz em said

    Well, I’ve read the whole Harry Potter lot and lots of other books this fall and winter. It’s great fun and I think that dressing up for the book you are reading sounds like fun.

    Have fun in New York for me. I love that city. When I lived in Kansas and I went frequently. I know what you mean about the finances. I loved the off-Broadway theatre, the tree at Rockefeller Center is cool and I have been into St. Patrick’s Cathedral which is absolutely beautiful. This said inspite of the fact I’m not fond of organized religion.

    Have a happy holiday season.

Leave a Reply

