Fruit Loop

December 17, 2007

It wasn’t my intention to post another MonaVie entry so soon, but a lot of questions were raised in the comments section, and I would like to address them.

LeAnn wrote: “The GH stars can’t be in it for the money so they must believe in it.” Good point. At the meeting I attended, Steve Burton said that he earns a very good salary as an actor on General Hospital, and he didn’t get into MonaVie for the money. He really believes in the product. Not only do he and his wife drink it, but their children do, as well.

Whatdayisit observes, “if you are ‘glowing’ and get a comment from someone who sees you nearly every day…that is huge!” I couldn’t agree more! Compliments like that are always well received, but even moreso at my age!

Carol says “I have been leery of stuff like that” (in reference to pyramid-type schemes). Me, too!

Jim remarks, “What works, works.” Amen to that.

This from LA: “As Sheryl Crow says, ‘If it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad.’” That works for me!

Pam asks, “Have you heard of the Lyrica they are advertising for fibromyalgia?”

I’ve been taking Lyrica for months. It makes me really dizzy. (No wisecracks, please.) At first, I was really hopeful that it would help, but, until I started drinking the Monavie, I was still having some pretty stupefying Fibro-flareups.

Sasha wonders if Monavie will end up being toxic. Considering what the ingredients are, I kind of doubt that.

* Açai berry – The most important ingredient in Mona Vie Active Juice. The Açai berry is filled with phytonutrients, antioxidants, and trace minerals.
* Pomegranate – Another powerful ingredient in Mona Vie Active that is rich in antioxidants and phytonutrients.
* White Grape – An ingredient in Mona Vie Active that is thought to increase heart health and antioxidants.
* Nashi Pear – An apple shaped fruit that is grown in Asia and included in the ingredient list of Mona Vie Active. It is a superb source of dietary fiber, high in vitamins and minerals including the B-complex group.
* Acerola – A fruit found in Mona Vie Active, it is shaped like a cherry and is rich in antioxidants, vitamin C and many more essential minerals.
* Pear – An excellent source of fiber. The pear found in Mona Vie Active is rich in protein and vitamins.
* Aronia – Another important ingredient in Mona Vie Active, it is a berry that is filled with anthocyanins and flavonoids higher even than cranberries.
* Purple Grape – Similar to white grape it is a substantial supplier of cardioprotective enzymes. It is also a key component in Mona Vie Active.
* Cranberry – A wonderful feature of Mona Vie Active, it is an ideal balance of proteins, anthocyanins, and flavonoids.
* Passion Fruit – An ingredient in Mona Vie Active, it is an excellent source of fiber and a super combination of Vitamins A and C.
* Banana – A wonderful supplier of potassium and another feature found in Mona Vie Active.
* Apricot – Full of Vitamin C and dietary fiber, it will be found in Mona Vie Active as well.
* Prune – A vital feature of Mona Vie Active. It is proven to help reduce cholesterol. It may also be an excellent source of antioxidants and perhaps contributes to bone health.
* Kiwi – A fruit included in Mona Vie Active, it is grown in New Zealand and full of Vitamin C, essential minerals like copper, magnesium, and manganese.
* Blueberry – A rich source of anthocyanins and a wonderful element of Mona Vie Active. The U.S. Agricultural Research Service conducted research that points to the possibility that they contain chemicals that decrease the growth of cervical and breast cancer cells.
* Bilberry – It contains an innate fusion of phytochemical glycosides called Cyanidin, Delphinidin, and Malvidin. As an ingredient in Mona Vie Active, it is believed to possess beneficial properties that positively affect the eyes as well as the circulatory system.
* Camu Camu – Found on a bush in the Amazon Rain Forest, it is another fruit found in Mona Vie Active. It is known to have anti-depressant and anti-viral properties.
*Wolfberry – Found in North West China, as an ingredient in Mona Vie Active, it contains many amino acids and 21 trace minerals.
* Lychee – Another ingredient in Mona Vie Active, it can be found in Southern China. It contains high levels of Vitamin C, Potassium, and other nutrients.

Monavie Active also contains the following:

Esterified Fatty Acids – lubricates the body’s cells and revitalizes the membranes that cushion bones and joints.

Gluclosamine – restores flexibility and is the natural building block of healthy cartilage.

According to this site, “Sodium Benzoate is the preservative used in MonaVie. Once the bottle is opened, the fruit mixture would be an ideal medium for pathological organisms were it not for an insignificant and harmless addition of 0.1% sodium benzoate. Foods containing this preservative are much healthier than non-preservative foods since harmful microorganism growth are inhibited, food oxidation is prevented, and food nutrients are preserved. Sodium benzoate is completely out of the system within ten hours of consumption. The limit of sodium benzoate in foods is not because of its toxicity or potential ill effects; rather, it is a taste issue — levels higher than 0.1% will leave an unacceptable aftertaste.”

And that is definitely enough of that.

By the way, we had a two hour delay.  I love these leisurely mornings!  Still, I have to hurry up and get in the shower to avoid a conflict with other members of the family who need to use it, too.  Have a good day!

Song of the Day: Put the Lime in the Coconut by Harry Nilsson

9 Responses to “Fruit Loop”

  1. Hey, it sounds good to me!

  2. Pam L said

    Wow, I don’t know anything about those rain forest berry items, but everything else sounds really good for you, and tasty to boot! Too bad about the Lyrica, I was hoping there was hope with it.

  3. LeAnn said

    It really does sound like it’s full of good nourishment. I think I’ll take this list to my doc next time I go. One of my docs sells Juice Plus to his patients and it’s a muli level marketing product which I think is similar to Monavie. I think I need to get it out of my head that just because it’s multi level marketed doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a bad thing. Steph, I really appreciate you sharing your Monavie experience. It’s very helpful and informative.

  4. Sunday said

    GAH! It sounds good to me, but unfortunately, this stupid medicine (Coreg) explicitly (sp?) states that THERE. ARE. TO. BE. NO. SUPPLEMENTS. TAKEN. ALONG. WITH. IT. AT! ALL! Which is interesting, because there are supplements that help lower blood pressure, etc., but you can’t take them ’cause you’re stuck taking this crap. I’m telling you, it’s a conspiracy. C-O-N-spiracy!

    I’m soooooooo glad it’s working for you! Whoo-hoo!

  5. It isn’t the product I worry about, it is MLM that I worry about.
    I am not allowed to take anything other than what my doctor gives me so I am not going to worry about it at all.
    I am happy it is making you feel better. I hope it continues to help.

  6. LA said

    My sweet lord, you must be VERY regular these days! A hit of that and I’d be scoured from stem to stern.

    When is dress like a character day? Did you miss it because of the delays and snow days and other botheration? Re-reading #3 which is very heavy on the Hagrid stuff and am grinning in anticipation of pics. ~LA

  7. Bex said

    Steph,
    I was typing a neurology report where a patient has had pain for years with no help until she tried “intramuscular stimulation” which apparently is more common in Canada. It was the only thing that worked for this patient with chronic pain. Anyway, I thought of you, and here is a site telling all about it. You might just want to save it for future reference.

    http://www.intramuscularstimulation.com/2.htm

    Bex

  8. yaketyyak said

    Thanks for thinking of me, Bex. I’ve actually gone for IMS, also known as dry needling. It did give me SOME relief, but not in the area that plagues me most.

  9. Jim said

    I think fruits & veggies are important for health and that eating a variety provides the best chance of getting a good mix of all of the antioxidents and various micronutrients that can be found. Drinking OJ in the morning is a good idea… but it is even better to drink a variety of juices and eat a variety of fresh berries and other fruits and vegetables. (And I think I’ll have a glass of wine either with dinner or in the evening.) MonaVie as a product sounds like a healthy mixture of a variety of mostly exotic (from a North American perspective) fruits and berries. The benefits of fruits and berries isn’t negated by multilevel marketing or the questionable backgrounds of some of the characters running the company. It might be cheaper if it were mass-marketed and available in your local supermarket… but in that case they probably would have made it fifty percent apple juice (from concentrate) and twenty percent high fructose corn syrup… so maybe it is better not being on supermarket shelves?

Leave a Reply

