Mind Over Matter

December 16, 2007

After I posted the Monavie entry, a reader brought up the possibility that my mind might have convinced my body that the juice is living up to its hype.

First, let me say that I’m all for the placebo effect. Anything that causes a decrease in pain and/or an increase in energy is okay with me. However, I really don’t think this is a case of my mind tricking my body. Past experiences show that my body isn’t easily fooled.

A few years ago, I started seeing a new neurologist for my scary headaches. There was something about this guy that made me feel hopeful for the first time in a very long time. To make a long story short, he prescribed medication, and I was on it for quite a while.

At one point during the medication trial, I had been scary headache-free for a few months. I was ecstatic. I really believed that the meds had done the trick. I was certain that the reign of terror had finally come to an end.

I was wrong. The scary headaches came back. With a vengeance.

Apparently, my mind doesn’t seem to have much influence over my body.

Another thing I’d like to mention is the fact that it didn’t dawn on me that my new burst of energy had anything to do with MonaVie until my co-worker made that comment about my appearance. It was only then that something clicked in my brain and I made the connection. Prior to that, I hadn’t given MonaVie much thought at all.

For the record, the cynic in me is alive and well. I’m still not convinced that MonaVie is responsible for the recent spike in my energy level. However, I am willing to consider that it might be a factor. You never know.

Song of the Day: Mind Over Matter  by Ice-T

7 Responses to “Mind Over Matter”

  1. LeAnn said

    Hmmm. I don’t really trust anything that is marketed via multi level marketing. But like you said in a previous blog, the GH stars can’t be in it for the money so they must believe in it. I really wish it wasn’t so expensive but it is selling at that price so I guess it’s working for them. I saw a car at Walmart yesterday with Monavie ads on the window, so I guess Monavie is in Oklahoma already. That surprised me a little. I have no doubt that Bradford and Steve are convinced the stuff works and that’s a pretty good endorsment as far as I’m concerned. I am anxious to try it.

  2. Sasha said

    I don’t think anyone’s mind could have -that- much power over their body. There is probably something to this drink but what is it? Will it have long lasting effects? Or is it just a strong stimulant of some sort? Will it end up being toxic, etc. I’ll bet you’re already asking yourself all kinds of questions like that. I still think it’s worth continuing because you never know unless you try! xoxo

  3. I agree with you, whatever is giving you energy and possibly relieving some of the pain is worth taking. I hope it turns out to be the magic elixir you have been wanting. The soap stars could be in it if they have a pyramid type of business structure…you know…get customers who get more customers who get more. But, I sure don’t think there is any harm in trying it out for a few weeks to figure out if you really do get a good benefit for it. And if you are “glowing” and get a comment from someone who sees you nearly every day…that is huge!

  4. Jim said

    What works, works.

  5. If it helps then I say good. I wonder about the pyramid thing to though because a few years ago there was a health drink product that ended up being like that my friends and I were in on. We were asked to become distributors so we could get our own products cheaper. Of course we were at the bottom of the whole deal. I never tried to sell to anyone but often wondered if whatever was in the stuff may have harmed me more than helped me in the end. the whole company went down when feds figured out it was a pyramid deal.
    I have been leary of stuff like that since.

  6. Pam L said

    Without knowing the full ingredients, I think you did mention antioxidants from natural sources, so that’s all good. My DH Swears by Nakedjuice, for the natural antioxidants and vitamin benefits. He just prefers to drink something healthy rather than junk , while he’s driving around for work. Since he doesn’t always get decent meals during that time , it’s better than the junk he would get at the gas station stores.
    Have you heard of the Lyrica they are advertising for fibromyalgia? It’s prescription but I haven’t heard from anyone whether they’ve had any success for it.

  7. LA said

    As Sheryl Crow says, “If it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad.”

    Unbelievable shit happening here. Am trying to sort it and write about it. Everybody is okay health-wise, Mick and I are fine, Wolf is safe. That’s the best of it. Worst of it…GAHHHHH! ~LA

Leave a Reply

