I Need to Have My Head Examined

December 14, 2007

For some reason, our schools are closed again today. All the other districts in the area are on a 2 hour delay, which is odd. We never close when other schools are open. I suppose it’s because we’re a “walking district.” Some of our students have to walk two miles to get to school.

Last week, we had a 2 hour delay due to sleet. I only have to walk a couple of blocks to get to work, but it took me a long time to reach the school because the icy sidewalks were treacherous. I saw kids falling all over the place, and I nearly took a spill, myself. I’m guessing that some students got hurt, and the superintendent doesn’t want to take any more chances.

I’m not happy about the fact that we’ve now used two of our five snow days so early in the season (I don’t want to give up any days attached to our spring break). However, I am glad I don’t have to go to work today because I’m really hurting. The pain is a direct result of me being an idiot.

Yesterday, I was experiencing an unusual burst of energy (thanks a lot, MonaVie), so I cleaned the house from early in the morning until early evening. This “cleaning” did not include dusting, vacuuming, scrubbing, or mopping. It was just picking up and putting things away. I had stuff all over the place, much of it related to Christmas.

I also had to dig through my stockpile of gifts to come up with five presents for the co-worker whose name I picked from the “Secret Santa” box. The way it works is, the recipient gets four inexpensive gifts from an anonymous source Monday through Thursday of next week. On Friday, the last gift will be given, and the source revealed.

Although I don’t really know the woman I’ll be bestowing gifts upon, I’m glad I picked her name because she always gives me a smile and says hello when I pass her in the halls. That’s more than I can say for a lot of my other co-workers. Many of them go out of their way to avoid making eye contact. That building is toxic.

Anyway, I knocked myself out trying to get this place straightened up. The sad thing is that I’m STILL not done. There’s a mess of papers in the kitchen that have yet to be dealt with.

To add insult to injury, I went out around 8:00 pm and shoveled for almost two hours. I should mention that the driveway and sidewalks had already been shoveled three times. Rebecca did it once in the morning. Daniel did it when he got home from work. (He got out early.) Then he did it again a couple of hours later. Finally, I did it. Or, should I say, I tried to do it.

I shoveled the sidewalk and half the driveway, but had to call it quits because I could barely move. The sciatica pain was red hot, and my back felt extremely unstable. What the hell was I thinking?

Just yesterday I was saying that MonaVie won’t cure a herniated disc or sciatica. You’d think I would pay more attention to my own words instead of thinking I can don the Super Woman cape just because I’m suddenly full of vim and vigor. The Energizer Bunny I am not. I have to remember that there is a stiff price to pay for overexertion.

Oh well, at least the tree has been trimmed.

Song of the Day: Out of My Mind  by James Blunt

8 Responses to “I Need to Have My Head Examined”

  1. Penny said

    pretty pretty pretty tree.. 🙂

    We didn’t have a delay or a day off today. My peanut was 5 minutes late. More snow this Sunday.. (which messes a bunch of stuff for us) I WANT MY TREE.

  2. The tree looks very pretty. Shoveling snow is evil.

  3. Rest up and admire that pretty tree!

  4. LeAnn said

    Your tree is lovely. I think there is a connection with folks who over do it and folks who have back problems! My mom pushes and lifts and often winds up hospitalized, my sis in law has been warned she will wind up in a wheelchair, and she still pushes herself way beyond limits!! I have seen folks in major pain because of back problems and I don’t want to experience that myself!! Please take it easy in the future, Stephanie. As for today just rest!! No shoveling or any other New York outdoor winter activities!!!!! Have a nice day.

  5. Jeanette said

    It’s easy to overdo when you feel good and energetic and you get the chance to get a lot of things done. Shoveling snow is definitely not a good thing when you have back problems. My husband hurt his back severely shoveling snow a few years ago. He was off work for 6 weeks and on all sorts of pain meds. That summer I bought him a little snow blower at a garage sale for $30! No more shoveling for him.

  6. Jim said

    Living in Rhode Island after living in New York has made me appreciate the effect the Regents exam system has on the school calendar. Since the June Regents are locked in, schools work their schedules backward from that and have to schedule in their snow days. Here in Rhode Island there are no state wide end of school year exams and, since there is no locked-in final date, schools do no not schedule in those five snow days. (They might give themselves a day or two of wiggle room.) Thus, each snow day means a day added on to the end of the year.

  7. Jim said

    P.S. I’m really glad that MonaVie has you feeling more energetic, but you really have to avoid things like snow shoveling.

    (Uh, yes, this is the voice of experience talking — feeling the effects of yesterday’s and today’s snow shoveling on the bursitis in my left shoulder. Please do as I say and not as I do. Ouch!)

  8. Michael said

    What the hell *were* you thinking? At least the tree is gorgeous. (By the way, lots happened on Friday’s GH, but I keep smiling at the look on Spinelli’s face when he finally realized Georgie likes him. Bradford should get an Emmy!)

Leave a Reply

