Only Thirteen Shopping Days ‘Til Christmas

December 12, 2007

In my November 12th entry, I included a photo of a mountain of presents I had recently finished wrapping. A couple of people expressed surprise (and envy) that I had gotten so much of my shopping (and wrapping) out of the way.

The secret is that I get a really big head start. In fact, I will start shopping for Christmas 2008 right after Christmas 2007 is over. Because I have thirty-four people to buy for, getting started early is the only way to make Christmas shopping manageable (not to mention affordable).

As has so often been the case lately, a recent Simple Abundance essay seemed as if it could have been written just for me. In an entry about the merits of shopping throughout the year and amassing a stockpile of presents, Sarah Ban Breathnach says, “Spacing out the spending means less stress next December, a personal present of peace of mind that won’t go unappreciated.”  I’m here to tell you she’s right.

Moving right along… I received a different kind of “personal present” yesterday. Rebecca’s platelet count is normal, which means bone marrow won’t have to be drawn. And we did rejoice at these glad tidings.

Song of the Day: The Twelve Days of Christmas

10 Responses to “Only Thirteen Shopping Days ‘Til Christmas”

  1. LeAnn said

    I do envy you!! I have always wanted to start shopping right after Christmas but I probably never will. My aunt has always done that and by Christmas she has hundreds of gifts under the tree. It’s neat cause anyone who happens to show up at her house during Christmas gets a present. I’m glad your daughter’s platelet count was normal. I didn’t realize she had health problems. I hope she’ll be okay. Happy holidays!

  2. Rebecca platelet count — best present of all! Hugs to you both.

  3. Joan said

    Alleluia, alleluia, alleeeeee luuuuu ia!!!!

  4. I am happy for Rebecca.
    Shopping early is a great idea but I can never seem to do it.

  5. Sasha said

    I’m happy for you and Rebecca. Such a relief. 🙂

  6. Allison said

    I’m so glad to hear that Rebecca is okay!!!

  7. goatbarnwitch said

    I’m so glad Rebecca’s test was normal.

  8. Jim said

    I’m so glad to hear that.

  9. Michael said

    What great news about Rebecca. Thanks for letting us know.

    I think I might have already started on next Christmas. I ordered some stuff that probably won’t be here in time for this one.

  10. Jeanette said

    I’m glad Rebecca’s blood test was normal. What a relief for you.
    I definitely should start shopping right after Christmas, and I always get cards and wrapping paper when it’s so cheap. Its just that by the time Christmas is over I am so sick of spending money that I can’t bear the thought of spending any more than I have to!

Leave a Reply

