Eat, Drink, and Be Merry

December 10, 2007

Yesterday afternoon, Rebecca and I made a spur of the moment decision to go to Steve & Barry’s in Kingston. Since Tamica (she was Mark’s fiancée) lives in Kingston, I was hoping that I could drop Christmas presents off for her and Faelin while I was in their neighborhood. So, I called her before Rebecca and I left the house.

There was no answer, but I put the presents in the car anyway, in case I was able to reach her later. I never did get through to Tamica, so I guess I’ll have to mail the gifts, which is unfortunate because it’s a pretty hefty package. I imagine the postage will cost a pretty penny.

Oh well, at least Rebecca and I had a good time. We both scored Sarah Jessica Parker’s “Bitten” jeans for $9.98 a pair. That’s what I call a good deal.

Bitten apparel comes with a “manifesto.” The tag says: “It is every woman’s inalienable right to have a pulled-together, stylish, confident wardrobe with money left over to live.” Amen to that.

After we left the store, we went down to the riverfront to look for a place to eat. Rebecca was in the mood for Mexican, and that sounded good to me, so we settled on Rosita’s. Our meal hit the spot, and so did the glass of Blue Moon Ale.

Believe it or not (I couldn’t believe it myself), that one beer had me feeling good. In fact, I was downright tipsy. Rebecca thought it was funny, but after I sobered up, I thought it was kind of humiliating. I mean, who (other than me) gets drunk on one stinking beer?

I’ve always joked that I’m a cheap date, but this is ridiculous. Yes, I’ve admitted that two glasses of wine will get me inebriated. However, prior to this experience, the only time I got hammered after drinking one alcoholic beverage, the drink was a rather large martini. I would never have thought I’d get a buzz going with a single glass of beer.

Oh, the indignity.

Song of the Day: The Wassail Song – “Wassail” is an olde English word for a toast similar to “Good Health,” and the wassail is the content of the glass or goblet (spiced or mulled wine or ale)

5 Responses to “Eat, Drink, and Be Merry”

  1. It’s very embarrassing to get hammered in front your kid. Imagine what it’s like when your kid is a cop — not that I know anything about that. Oh no. Not me!

  2. One drink does me in these days. Too much medication plus the fact that I rarely take a drink.
    How odd we both talked about Sarah Jessica Parker’s clothing. I am glad you had a better experience than I did. The jeans did look OK though I didn’t look at them. Maybe your store had more variety.

  3. Sasha said

    A single glass of beer!? Oh my. :>

  4. Pam L said

    Wassail! wassail! all over the town,
    Our toast it is white and our ale it is brown;
    Our bowl it is made of the white maple tree
    With the wassailing bowl, we’ll drink to thee.

    It’s 10 stanzas and I haven’t sung it since High School choir.. but Wassail to you!

  5. LA said

    My jeans are definitely biting me! They’re too tight! (insert mirthless laugh)

    Unfortunately I’ve been building up quite a bit of tolerance and it takes a few beers to get me silly. I feel the first one, but don’t go cross-eyed. Mick and I finished the last of his birthday Blue Moon on Saturday! Thanks again, lovey! ~LA

Leave a Reply

