Thanksgiving Leftovers

November 24, 2007

Wednesday evening, I went down to the basement to get my folding table and chairs, in preparation for the holiday gathering I would be hosting the next day. I looked everywhere, but my search was fruitless. I climbed back upstairs empty handed, scratched my head a bit, and then headed back down to do a more thorough search. Still no table and chairs. Rebecca looked, and so did Daniel.

Finally, panic set in, and I called my sister, Michele. Being the lifesaver that she is, she offered to bring her folding table and chairs over. When she arrived, she said she had a hard time believing that we couldn’t find objects as large as a folding table and chairs, and wanted to have a look herself. Armed with a flashlight, she explored every nook and cranny of my basement. Nada. Zip. Zilch.

Reconciling myself to the fact that my basement had eaten the table and chairs, I went to Overstock dot com and ordered a new set of chairs. (I knew that I would need them in the future, and didn’t want to forget.) After that, my sister and I went shopping with Rebecca. While Rebecca was in the dressing room at Mandees, she got a text message from Leigh inviting her to a party.

Leigh. Party. A light bulb went off in my head.

I took out my cell phone and sent Leigh a text message asking if she had my folding chairs. She texted me back, “I’ll bring them tomorrow.” To say that I was upset is an understatement. With shaking fingers I sent her another text message, describing what I had gone through, including the purchase of another set of chairs. She did not respond.

As soon as I got home, I went on Overstock dot com to cancel the order. It was too late.

Oh well. At least now I won’t have to drag oversized chairs from all over the house to the table when I host future family gatherings.

Thanksgiving Day brought more stress. The 70 degree weather necessitated a change in what I had planned to wear. The only suitable thing I could lay hands on (my lighter clothes had been packed away) was a taffeta dress I had never worn before. (Warning: Do not wear taffeta when you are preparing and/or serving food. The stains don’t come out.) Of course, the dress needed to be ironed. And I had to wear dress shoes instead of the comfortable boots I would have worn with the original outfit.

Let me tell you right now that my dogs were barking. I ended up walking around in my stockinged feet much of the time. I just can’t wear pretty shoes. It’s not fair. Sob.

Anyway, back to getting ready for my guests. At one point, I was upstairs in the bathroom, applying the finishing touches to my makeup, when I heard Daniel shout, “Bad girl!”

Ellie had gotten into the cheese and crackers, and managed to polish off half a block of Gorgonzola.

This shot was taken before the damage was done.

Fortunately, the rest of the day went off without further mishap. Here are some more photos.

From left to right: My ex mother-in-law, nephew Alex, and 96 year old grandmother.

This table was set up in the living room. From left to right: My sister, Patti, Leigh, my mother (standing), Alex, my father, nephew Matt, and Rebecca. Note that she’s talking on her cell phone. Jeez.

Ahh. That’s better.

Me and Patti. (Michele had dinner with her in-laws, but did drop by later in the evening.)

By the time everyone left, I was in agony. The worst of the pain was that blasted area around my right shoulder blade.

Friday was a day of recuperation. The temperature dropped quite a bit, so I built a fire. There I sat, knitting and listening to Bob Dylan and Radiohead.

Before I go, I want to share this video clip with you. The woman in the video found an injured lion, and nursed him back to health. When the lion recovered from his injuries, she made arrangements with a zoo to care for him. This video was taken when the woman, after some time, went to visit the lion to see how he was doing. The lion has quite a reaction when he sees her.

Song of the Day: The Lion Sleeps Tonight by The Tokens

16 Responses to “Thanksgiving Leftovers”

  1. angel said

    hey how are you doing. i havent talked to you in forever. i hope your pain goes away .paul has been in iraq for 3 months now, and its still hard as hell with him being gone. when does it get easier. he also was talking smack about a divorce, but he is so scared i cant give up on him .. anyway .. email me.. i miss talking to you

  2. LeAnn said

    I’m glad you had a good Thanksgiving. I can’t believe it was 70 degrees. Here it was in the 40’s all day. I don’t think we’ll see the 70’s again until spring. I enjoyed the pictures.

  3. Carol said

    Looks like everyone had a good day and a lot of good food. I hope you get to rest.

  4. And they say animals don’t remember! I’m glad everything turned out fine on Thanksgiving and that you were able to relax yesterday. Hugs!!

  5. kitchenlogic said

    Dear June Clever in the dress and pearls: That looks like a terrific feast! I hope it won’t take you too long to recover.

  6. Jeanette said

    I absolutely love that video!

  7. You looked beautiful even if you might have been in your stocking feet by then! Thanks for sharing the 2006 Thanksgiving and the great photos. This was our first without my dear SIL but one of my sisters drove in from Texas so that was so nice. Looks like you had quite a feast at your dinner.
    I got that same video from someone else…loved the reaction of happiness from the lion…

  8. Jim said

    Hope your feet feel better now. Thanks for sharing your gathering with us via your photographs.

    (We were all gathered in Ridgefield, CT for the holiday.)

  9. I’m so glad that your day when better once you got the ‘cheese attack’ out of the way! You look SO pretty. That’s a perfect color on you. Great video, BTW!

  10. You look so pretty..and you are always smiling (through your pain) I am glad the day got better for you. You had our normal Thanksgiving weather and we had yours..it was in the low 40s here in Texas!! Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr. It didn’t stop my sister and law and I from venturing out Friday morning at 4:30 AM (yes you read that right..can you believe I did that???) to fight the crowds. It was fun though not having to have another lonely holiday with just the 3 of us..I missed my kids and grandkids, but at least we were with Scott’s family. Now on to Christmas….aaaaakkkkkkkk

  11. I need to learn to proofread..I meant my sister in law and I…not sister and law…yeesh!

  12. Michael said

    I’m glad you got through the day with no major disasters (although I do love my Gorgonzola). Some crazy members of my family (although I’m not allowed to use the word “crazy” in front of them) were up at 4 am Friday, but by the time they got inside the store, what they were looking for was already sold out. I say there’s something poetic about that.

  13. karenfromphilly said

    Ah, the dog thief. We’ve lost many desserts, appetizers and bread to our doggie thief. The lion video made me cry! I could just hear him telling her, “Get me out of here, I’ll be good!” You looked lovely for the holiday. I haven’t worn a dress in ages! My veiny legs prefer to be nicely covered in slacks.

  14. mo from ne said

    You look great in the taffeta! But I hear you about the stains. I am so sorry your shoulder hurt. That is a bummer.
    Also, a comment about the chairs, children and their friends seem to acquire vital entertaining items when I am not keeping track of them. Over the years I have lost a table and chairs, a small stereo, and some patio furniture. All it was ‘found’ last year when one of my son’s friends moved to his dorm with our truck. I went down to this kid’s room and found all it!

  15. Wow, you sure packed them in at that table. HA!

  16. hil said

    Aren’t you grateful for Axl Rose? In a kilt? Thanks for all of your nice comments this week! xoxo

Leave a Reply

