Public Enemy Number One

November 1, 2007

Halloween was a hoot and a half. My costume was a huge hit with the students (and staff). After my first period assignment in the gym (where I supervise students who don’t have a class, or come to school late, or are waiting for the BOCES bus), I walked into the computer lab and totally disrupted the class that had arrived before me.

The kids were howling. Everyone wanted to try on my Viking helmet and clock on a chain. I did, however, stop short of letting them anywhere near my Public Enemy t-shirt or my gold grill.

Because their friends had spread the word, students were constantly poking their heads into my room. One girl said that she heard about me as soon as she got to school. Another told me that I am the last person she would have expected to see dressed as Flavor Flav. When I asked why, she answered that I usually dress nicely, and look so proper. I pointed out to her that you never know who the crazy ones are.

My favorite comment was made by a student who broke into a giant smile when he saw me and announced, “You are officially official!” (Whatever that means.) A young, new teacher declared that I had the best costume, hands down. He couldn’t stop staring at me. You would have gawked, too. I was quite a sight. See for yourself.

My inspiration:

photo courtesy of i.a.cnn.net.

All day long, I heard “FLAVAAA FLAAAAAVVV! YEAAAAH BOOOOOYYYYEEE!” (You, too, can hear it by clicking the link.)

I lost track of how many times I had to pose for students with their camera phones. And, later in the evening, a parent accompanying trick-or-treaters took my picture, as well. Now I know how stars feel about the paparazzi. (Okay, I exaggerate.)

Speaking of trick-or-treaters, at one point, I had a large group at my door, so I went out on the porch to distribute the candy. I glanced to the left of the crowd and saw something straight out of Deliverance. It was my sister, Michele, taking advantage of an opportunity for additional shock value over her unexpected arrival by mingling with a bunch of trick-or-treaters.

Here we are together, the dentally challenged gangsta rapper and redneck.

A co-worker also stopped by my house so I could see her children in their costumes. Her son loved my outfit, and said he wants to wear it next year. I let him try it on for size. Too cute!

In closing, I want to share something a student wrote on the board in the computer lab. I don’t know who did it because I was out of the room at the time. What I do know is that it made my day.

Song of the Day: This is Halloween from The Nightmare Before Christmas

13 Responses to “Public Enemy Number One”

  1. Jim said

    Great costume! And what a pleasant note on the whiteboard!

  2. That is so great. Glad all the kids enjoyed it.

  3. You, my dear, are da bomb!

  4. hil said

    oh my god! ahahahahaha! You rock.

  5. Sunday said

    Heh. Thankfully you don’t look anything like the real thing! YEAAAAAH BOYEEEE! (And I swear, Mr. Flav looks more and more like a Gremlin with each passing year….)

  6. Sasha said

    I’m glad the costume was a hit and thankgod you don’t look like the real thing. 😀

  7. kitchenlogic said

    I can hardly tell you apart from Flav himself. Yah – boy!

  8. You obviously got a huge “thumbs up” from all the kids in school. Way to go! You had a very well planned costume so ….what are you planning for next year? Puleeze don’t be Britney with no panties….LOL

  9. LA said

    Yeeeeaaahhhh GRRRRRRRRRRRRLLL!!!! Peace out, dawg. ~LA

  10. A great costume and a great note from one of the students. I am betting that you ARE the best computer teacher ever!!

  11. Michael said

    I don’t know what “officially official” means either, but it must be some combination of cool and awesome.

  12. Stefani said

    Hilarious! Great costume – glad you had fun with it.

  13. mo from ne said

    Wow! You look great. The kids must have loved it. I had the same viking hat for my costume which I lent to a friend who was also playing Flav A Flav!

    I was “When the Fat Lady Sings” because I am in a body cast recovering from a plasmacytoma multiple myeloma in my spine. I covered my cast with gold wrapping paper and put on my viking hat and I was all set.

    I have a pic on blog if you want to check it out.

    http://mediateacher.vox.com/library/post/nablopomo.html

    squirrel on down to my pic.

Leave a Reply

