Wish You Were Here

October 25, 2007

On Saturday (which was the first anniversary of my brother, Mark’s death), I sent an email to Tamica (Mark’s fiancée). I just wanted to let her know that I was thinking of her and her daughter, Faelin. Her response was heart-wrenching. She wrote:

I ended up taking time off work yesterday and Friday. I thought I would be able to handle this particular anniversary” better – I was wrong. Faelin was crushed. Initially, I didn’t think she would even remember, but again, I was wrong. I thought I wouldn’t even mention it to her – I know if I could have forgotten about it myself the last few days might have been easier.

We went to the river on Saturday, to the spot where we used to watch them set the duck blind, and floated flowers in. We still have the remains in the containers Mike gave us and it didn’t leave her side all weekend. She breaks my heart. I miss him every day still – for her, for me, and for all of you.

I miss Mark every day, too. This is such a monstrous loss.

Song of the Day: Wish You Were Here by Incubus

11 Responses to “Wish You Were Here”

  1. Holly said

    {{{hugs}}} Its been 11 years and I still haven’t been to my father’s grave since the funeral. I have a hard time even looking at pictures. Thinking of you and your family. {{{hugs}}

  2. Jim said

    Sympathy and hugs.

  3. Sasha said

    Hugs for you. xoxo

  4. kitchenlogic said

    I used to take my sister-in-law out for lunch on the anniversary day of my brother’s death. Somehow, it made me feel more connected to him and made her more connected to our family. You know how sorry I am and how my heart aches for you.

  5. I am glad you connected with his fiance and her daughter. I am sure it helped her to know that you were aware of her pain too. I am sorry for your loss. I won’t say it gets better but some years it is easier. Blessings to all of you who loved him.

  6. Sunday said

    I hate how society makes us feel that we should be “all right” and that “time heals all wounds” BAH! But it’s great that you’re staying connected with that part/the people of his life.

  7. Joan said

    Sending you peaceful vibes

  8. Stefani said

    I too am glad you connected with Tamica – good for both of you. Hugs to you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

