Sheep and Wool Festival 2007

October 23, 2007

On Sunday, there was a temporary break in the dark clouds of grief. I am very grateful that I was able to enjoy the glorious weather, and be glad for every hour (seven, in fact) that I spent at the Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. My cousin invited me to go, and I’m so happy I did. It was a wonderful day.

The first thing we saw as we entered the fairgrounds was this man standing on two horses.

Next, we went through an exhibition building where we marveled at all the gorgeous displays of yarn and handmade items.

I’ve been looking for something to share space with some lonely chestnuts in a bowl on my mantel. These felted balls fill the bill nicely (and they were dirt cheap).

I’ve also been on the lookout for a fun pair of mittens. (Mittens keep my hands much warmer than gloves.) I was delighted to find these very reasonably priced and vibrantly colored mittens.

Then we headed over to watch the llama and alpaca jumping event.

Another highlight of the day was this yummy meal consisting of grilled loin lamb chops, ground lamb ravioli and fresh spinach sautéed in garlic and oil.

One more fun purchase was this felted pumpkin, just in time for Halloween.

Speaking of Halloween, I’m going to dress up as Flavor Flav. For real. Here’s my costume:

Song of the Day: Flavor Flav Cold Lampin’ by Public Enemy

12 Responses to “Sheep and Wool Festival 2007”

  1. hil said

    OMG! Halloween (gasp) costume (choke) the best! Sorry, couldn’t stop laughing. Awesome!

  2. victorvic said

    ~V~

    dang that meal has got me hungry lol, AND IT LOOKS AS IF YOU HAD A BLAST,…. ALL GOOD!! 🙂

    ~V~

  3. Wow did you buy any yarn? We have a ton of buckeyes in our yard and they sure do look like your chestnuts. Of course Ohio has Buckeyes. But I wonder how to tell the difference?
    Your costume is great.

  4. LA said

    I had to ask Mick who Flava was. He blanched and said, “That weirdo with a CLOCK around his neck!” He didn’t say anything about a Viking helmet! Too much fun! And so was the wooly festival by the sound of it. YAY! ~LA

  5. goatbarnwitch said

    I am so jealous. A and I were going to go to the S&W fest but I had to take the previous Saturday off to pick up Dixie. Maybe next year we will all go….. Oh, wanna learn how to make those felt balls? I can show you and I have some very pretty colored roving to add some nice color. I’m actually glad you got to go it is a wonderful event. Did you see the dog trials before the leaping llamas? I could go on and on….

  6. Sunday said

    Yeah, Boyeeeeeeeee! Flava Flav in da house!

    When I was in elementary school, (this was back in the stone age when videos were still being shown on regular TV), I remember my sister watching a Public Enemy video. I saw this little black guy with a moufull o’ gold teeth, a yooge clock, and boundless energy bouncing around yelling, “Yeah, boyeeeee!” and I asked her, “WHO is THAT?!” before bursting into hysterical laughter. Little did I know that “that” would be one of the most influential groups in rap music, and also one of the most recognizable ones. I must’ve worn out my sister’s cassette (showing our ages!) of “Don’t Believe the Hype”.

    Please tell me you’re going to get one of those false gold teeth things! That would be hysterical!

  7. Kim said

    Wow! You went to Rhinebeck! I’m jealous. I love the felted balls.

  8. Sasha said

    I am so jealous of your felted pumpkin, I love it. I can imagine though, if I had one of those, my cats would steal it and use it as a toy. They’re horrible cats.

  9. My only knowledge of Flava Flav is the reality show when he fell into…hmmm.bed and love/like with Brit Neillson and was all over her. What a sight!
    Great costume idea though and I bet you are a big hit with the other costume wearers.

  10. Michael said

    What a great day, and it came along at just the right time, too. I love lamb, but it’s the sauteed spinach that’s making my mouth water.

  11. Life is for living, and having great fun while going through it. Looks as if you had your share this time. Wish it would last for you forever.

  12. Stefani said

    Love the felted pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

