Time is Not On My Side

October 3, 2007

This has been one crazy week! On Monday, I was so busy at work, I didn’t even take a break for lunch. I worked nine periods straight through, and then had to go to a faculty meeting that lasted until 4:00. Considering that I had been on the job since 7:30 a.m., that’s a long day for me.

Yesterday, Rebecca and I went apple picking after I got out of work.

Besides picking apples, we also checked out the caged birds.  Here’s a peacock.

Does anyone know what kind of bird this is?  It has a very long tail.

We also engaged in some silliness.  Rebecca’s favorite animal is the pig, so this is the cutout she chose to pose in.

Of course, I chose the witch.

Becca thought it would be cool to take a picture of our shadows.

Before leaving the orchard, we also paid a visit to the pumpkin patch.

Afterward, we went to get a bite to eat.  It was so late by the time we got home, I went straight to bed.

This afternoon, I have to do some straightening up and dig through the mountain of paperwork in the kitchen to find whatever bills are due to be paid. Then my sister is coming over after dinner.

Because I won’t have another chance to do so, I also have to find time to pack my suitcase. Rebecca and I are going to spend the holiday weekend in Rehoboth beach, Delaware. We’re leaving right after I get of work on Friday, and will return on Monday.

Tomorrow I have a hair appointment, and some more running around to do after that. I’m exhausted just thinking about everything that needs to be done, but I’m hoping that a long weekend at the seashore will be rejuvenating.  See you when I get back!

Song of the Day:  Time is on My Side  by The Rolling Stones

15 Responses to “Time is Not On My Side”

  1. Stefani said

    Have a great weekend, Stephanie!

  2. We’re going to be in Ocean City this weekend — maybe we could rendevous for pizza at Nicola’s. It’s the best pizza in Rehoboth!

  3. LA said

    YAY for being busy with good things! Boo on your not being around to come to the car show. Mick is taking the VW out to win its annual trophy! Missing you fierce. ~LA

  4. goatbarnwitch said

    Have a great getaway!!

  5. Jeanette said

    Is that bird a female peacock? I don’t know anything about birds but it looks like one to me.

  6. kitchenlogic said

    I think it looks like a female peacock, too. No?

  7. Sasha said

    Have fun, Stephanie!

  8. Bex said

    “Holiday weekend” ??? What’s the holiday? Do I get a day off that I don’t know about?

    Have fun!

  9. yaketyyak said

    For the record, there was a female peacock in the enclosure, and it was brown.

  10. That bird must be a male as most females of the bird species are the duller colored….I don’t know what it is but it is beautiful!
    Enjoy your holiday, we don’t have Columbus Day as an “off work” holiday here….
    Hope you don’t get into a habit of skipping your lunch break often…can’t be good for you…
    The apple orchard looked like much fun.

  11. Joan J. said

    So glad you had a laugh-filled day – nothing better to take your mind off of that damn back pain!

  12. thecrankyone said

    Looks like a pea hen to me, don’t the peacocks usually have longers tails, with more colorful plumage. Hope you have a great weekend.

  13. Kim said

    I think the colorful bird in question is the golden pheasant.
    Glad you’re getting out!

  14. Terry said

    It’s difficult to say what kind of bird. There are so many bird species. It is NOT a female peacock (which are called pea hens and are rather dull and brown looking). More than likely it is a chicken or a pigeon. There are literally hundreds of pigeon breeders around the world, and the number of chicken varieties in the world is staggering . The bird to it’s left is a pigeon, so the size is right. The Google Chicken Breeds and/or Pigeon Breeds and you will see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

