I Want a New Drug

September 29, 2007

My City is participating in The Big Read, a nationwide initiative of the National Endowment for the Arts. The Big Read was created to bring reading back to American culture by providing citizens with the opportunity to read and discuss a single book within their communities.

The first book in the series is To Kill A Mockingbird. On Wednesday, the school I work in sent 400 students to a local, historic theater to see the movie. I was asked to be a chaperone, and leaped at the chance to watch this film on the big screen. Students from three other school districts were in the audience, as well.

Unfortunately, it took a long time to get all of the students seated, and the movie started later than anticipated. I had requested half a personal day for the comp hearing. Because of the late start, I had to leave after Atticus delivered his closing arguments.

I met with my attorney before the hearing, and I informed him about the discrepancies in the Independent Medical Exam report. He told me there was nothing that could be done, but I shouldn’t be concerned because there wasn’t anything damaging in the report.

The comp hearing itself was not at all what I expected. I just sat there, and didn’t have to say a thing. I’m not even sure what was going on… I think they were figuring out how much the comp carrier owes my employer for the sick time benefits I was paid… It’s all very complicated and confusing. I’m just glad it’s over.

In other news, I’m on new medication for Fibromyalgia. It makes me dizzy, which is one of the noted side effects. I’m hoping the dizziness will go away as my body adjusts to the meds. However, this drug also makes me feel stoned. Going to work in such a loopy state has been an interesting experience… So far, it’s been a good trip.

The down side is increased fatigue. On the other hand, there has been a decrease in the god-awful pain in my shoulder blade. I’m not sure whether or not that can be attributed to the medication… It could just be that the Fibro flare-up has run its course… We shall see.

Another possible side effect of this medication is constipation. That had me worried because the last time I suffered from that condition I ended up in the hospital.

So far, that hasn’t happened, thank goodness. Instead, I am experiencing the opposite. I was running to the bathroom all night, and this morning brought more of the same. Again, I’m not sure if the medication is responsible. It could just be a gastrointestinal upset. Whatever it is, it’s wreaking havoc on my back. I can’t win for losing.

Song of the Day: I Want a New Drug  by Huey Lewis and the News

13 Responses to “I Want a New Drug”

  1. Sunday said

    Heh. That song was the theme song for a sociology course I had…Sociology of Drugs or something. Anyhoo, I’m glad all went well (I hope!) with the hearing. You’ve had enough trouble for 4 lifetimes!

  2. LA said

    If only we could figure out a way for you to nap on the toilet!

    “Today on ‘Oprah’…sleep pooping! Multi-tasking at its best or restroom menace? Stay tuned to find out.”

    No, I haven’t been drinking! Honest! ~LA

  3. yaketyyak said

    Sounds like you got into my new meds… 😉

  4. Sunshyn said

    I see a lot of chatter on the autism biomed list about gluten-free, casein-free diet or the specific-carbohydrate diet eliminating fybromyalgia symptoms. You can google the diets if you are interested. Me, I know I could never stick to such a diet, because I love my bread and cheese too much. Well, I could. I have, actually, at least on the bread, but I couldn’t do it and live with my husband! Something to do with yeast overgrowth in the gut, which affects a lot of kids in the autism spectrum. They treat with an antifungal at the same time – diflucan or something. It would be hard to find a doctor who would get on the bandwagon for this, though, I’m sure. I want to know the name of the drug!

  5. I am on so many drugs each with its own side effect. Take this one to couteract that one. I read an article the other day about how doctors seem to disregard side effects. I get more info from the pharmicist than the doctor. I just found out that all the bruising I have is from the combination of zoloft and a baby aspririn everyday. Who knew?

  6. LeAnn said

    Try a stool softener. Atticus can’t win for losing either. He lost the trial.

  7. I know I don’t have to say this but if you don’t get some relief from the numerous bathroom trips, call your dr…maybe you are allergic to the meds…. I sure hope you can find something that will give you some help and work gently on your system.

  8. I’ll jump on the bandwagon and suggest Activia (a yogurt brand) — it’s helped my mom get her system regulated.

  9. Jim said

    Drugs and side effects. I take medication to lower blood pressure. One of the possible side effects is drowsiness. That’s the one that hits me. I can scarcely keep my eyes open sometimes. So I drink lots of coffee to keep away. One of the side effects of drinking lots of coffee is elevated blood pressure. There is something wrong with this picture.

    I hope your problems can be resolved.

  10. thecrankyone said

    I love To Kill A Mockingbird. I remember reading that in either elementary or middle school. The movie always makes me want to cry. Hope the new meds work for you. Adding some fiber should help with the bathroom issues.

  11. Bex said

    Munch on a big container of prunes… does the trick for me every time.

  12. Michael said

    Sounds like you could have skipped the meeting and stuck with the movie, and everything would have come out the same way. If this was a final work comp resolution, I guess it was worth it to go.

  13. Stefani said

    Hope it all gets straightened out soon. I’m glad you got to see part of To Kill a Mockingbird – I know it’s one of your all-time favorites.

Leave a Reply

