The Agony of Defeat

September 24, 2007

A copy of the report from my Independent Medical Exam arrived in today’s mail. I opened it with a great deal of excitement. With this document in my hands, I felt empowered and well able to face the judge at my upcoming Worker’s Comp hearing (on Wednesday).

By the time I reached the end of the report, however, I was overcome with stunned disbelief. Dr. IME did make reference to “segmental instability,” but no mention was made of the fracture. And, get this – he did not recommend a bone scan, despite his assurances to me that he would do so.

Any hope I had that I might finally be on the road to relief has been shattered.

I give up.

Song of the Day: I Give Up by Heart

10 Responses to “The Agony of Defeat”

  1. I can’t believe it. Surely there is some help for you. Keep fighting.

  2. Pam L said

    I would call him on that, literally call him and ask why he had a reversal in recommending the scan and why no mention of the fracture? It sounds like he’s either forgotten, his notes did not make it to the transcriber correctly, or, me being the suspicious type, someone “suggested” he shouldn’t overstep his place with them perhaps? Either way, I’d want to know. How frustrating!

  3. Sasha said

    Yes, I would call him on this! Don’t give up! xoxo

  4. Absolutely, keep fighting. I know it’s hard, but you have to call him on it.

  5. Bex said

    I have to agree with the rest, call and demand an answer. Put him on the spot. I’ve never seen anyone with as many unlucky life-events as you have. All I keep thinking is that it HAS GOT to turn around one of these days. The law of averages says so!

  6. goatbarnwitch said

    !!??!!??!!

    Unbelievable. As the others said, call the guy and find out what the heck is going on.

  7. LeAnn said

    They want you to give up!! That’s why they make it so hard for you.

  8. Jim said

    Call him immediately — oh, okay, wait until the turkey opens his office in the morning — and let him know how he is falling down in meeting your needs as his patient and is failing to keep his word.

  9. opit said

    And – get a new physician.

Leave a Reply

