Cheap Date

September 23, 2007

Periodontal problems dictate that I go to the dentist for root planing and scaling four times a year. Because of the discomfort related to this procedure, I always ask for gas. I’m in enough pain as it is, and prefer to avoid adding any more to the mix whenever possible.

Usually, I don’t have any problem tolerating the gas, with the exception of two occasions, one of which was yesterday. I couldn’t come down. The hygienist had me on pure oxygen for thirty minutes, but I was still high as a kite. She asked if alcohol affects me quickly, and I had to admit that it does.  Two glasses of wine are enough to get me drunk. I’m a cheap date.

Anyway, I didn’t want to hold the hygienist up any longer, so I assured her that I was feeling well enough to leave. After making sure I wasn’t going to be driving myself home, she let me go.

I called Daniel, but he was stuck at the mechanic’s waiting for delivery and installation of a new alternator. Not feeling clear-headed enough to call for a taxi, I made the stupid decision to walk home. It’s only a little over a mile from the dentist’s office to my house, and I’ve walked to and fro many times. Never under the influence of nitrous oxide, though.

After only a couple of blocks, I knew I had made a mistake. My vision and hearing were off, for one thing. For another, my back and legs were killing me. To add insult to injury, it started to rain, and I didn’t have an umbrella. I can’t remember ever being so happy to get home.

It took a couple of hours for the gas to wear off completely. I did some housework, and then went to visit My Friend in the hospital. It made my heart hurt to see this vital woman looking so fragile. She has a tube down her nose, and drains coming out of her in three places. Still, she was talkative, and even cracked a few jokes…

…My mother just called and asked me to go to a thrift store with her, so I have to go get showered and dressed. Ta ta!

Song of the Day: Laughing Gas by Quiet Riot

10 Responses to “Cheap Date”

  1. Bex said

    A similar thing happened to me last week. I had to have a broken tooth pulled and the Novocain did not wear off until the following day! I thought my face would be paralyzed like that forever. But it did finally wear off, but it took much longer than normally.

  2. Jim said

    I can remember an experience of uh… smoking non-tobacco products (when I was ever so much younger)… and wondering if I would ever be able to come down and find my way home.

  3. LA said

    You must have been REALLY wasted…walking???? Sigh. My best friend is a lunatic and a nitrous junkie. (hee hee hee) ~LA

  4. LA said

    Btw, Mick is giggling like a loon over your ‘adventure’. He thinks you’re nuts too, but loves you as much as I do. ~both of us

  5. Holly said

    I have a similiar reaction to some anestesias and novicanes. It takes foever for them to wear off of me. Two or three drinks in the same night constitues a binge for me. One shot of the hard stuff and I’m off the deep end.

  6. LeAnn said

    I take the nitrous when I get my teeth cleaned too. Not because it hurts, but beause I really love nitrous! lol. It always wears off too fast though!!

  7. abarclay12 said

    I didn’t even know getting the gas was an option. You’ve definitely enlightened me. I’m asking for it during teeth cleanings.

  8. goatbarnwitch said

    I’m sorry you were hurting but you must admit that walking down the street stoned can be a novelty. I hope you were able to find the humor 🙂

  9. mary said

    Im actually doing a corelational study on dental problems and nervous disorders. I was hoping you’d be gracious enough to tell me if anyone in your family, even distant, has ever had ms, cerebral palsy, polio or been seriously ill at all.

  10. fin said

    That entry made me laugh out loud. I’m the opposite of you: no matter how much stuff the dentist injects into me, I never get numb. I must be an alien or something.

Leave a Reply

