See You in September

September 10, 2007

This past weekend has been a busy one. I wanted to engage in as many fun activities as possible before heading back to work.

On Friday, I lounged on a float in my sister’s pool.

Every September, I try to get to Locust Grove (The Samuel Morse Estate) to see the dahlias. They’re pretty spectacular. This is some of what I saw on Saturday (including Tree Hydrangea, and an arbor, which is one of my favorite places on the grounds).

Yesterday, I visited my grandmother. After that, it was time to get serious. So I dragged out the iron and ironing board. Setting the alarm clock for an ungodly hour was the hardest thing I had to do.

No. Scratch that. Getting up at an ungodly hour this morning was the hardest thing I’ve had to do. Now it’s time to face the music.

Song of the Day: See You in September by The Happenings

12 Responses to “See You in September”

  1. Bex said

    Sometimes I think NEVER have ANY days off is a good thing, because I never have to face “going back to work” ! Good luck with the job… hope it goes smoothly for you.

  2. Jim said

    Thank you for sharing those pictures.

    I think I recall you writing about Locust Grove once before. I’ve really got to take a look at it the next time I go through Poughkeepsie (although usually I’m either nearing the end of a long drive to visit my brother or I’m just starting a long drive to return home, neither of which are conducive to sight-seeing side trips).

    Hope the start of school is going smoothly.

  3. LA said

    Baby, Wolf has horse camp tonight and I’ll be gone until late-ish so do NOT make yourself nuts finding the energy to stay up and talk, okay? In the meantime I’m sending my brightest twinkles your way that your body cuts you some slack and the reunion with staff and students is a joyous one. ~LA

  4. I hope your return to work is a good thing. The flower photos are wonderful.

  5. Gorgeous blooms!! I hope work goes well.

  6. LeAnn said

    I felt that way when I went back to work at AT&T in April when I was still sick but ran out of disability. For me it didn’t last long though, since they immediately fired me!

  7. Sasha said

    What gorgeous flowers! I’m doing jury duty today so the flowers really brightened my day. I hope your return to work goes well. xoxo

  8. goatbarnwitch said

    I hope your return to work goes very well. Love the pictures.

  9. What glorious blooms are those Stephanie, must have been a great day to be in company with them.

    Hope all goes well with you this work year.

  10. whatdayisit said

    I hope the “going back to” work went well. I am sure you will get used to it very quickly. Loved the flower photos

  11. Sunday said

    Oooh! Again, I’m turning green as I type. Those flowers (and that pool!) is gorgeous!

    Bex is right–sometimes it’s okay not to get any time off, because there’s no rest to come back from. Of course, once the year gets going, you’re tired and cranky and wishing for Christmas break, but there you go. (And I’m waiting for Christmas break myself…)

    Good luck!

  12. Betty Lou said

    Good luck on going back to work. I guess the secret is to pace yourself (if you can) so that your body & mind will get used to the routine again.

Leave a Reply

