Wrapped Up in Red Tape

August 10, 2007

I had an appointment with the neurosurgeon on Tuesday to go over the results of the myelogram. Most notably, the films show that the spine surgeon “took a lot of bone” when he performed the discectomy three years ago.

I’m not sure what that means, and Dr. M didn’t elaborate. Instead, he referred me to his associate, Dr. C, who specializes in lumbar fusions. Apparently, Dr. M’s specialty is brain surgery. I felt like I was in need of his special services after hearing that tidbit of information… Your guess is as good mine as to why I’ve been seeing him instead of his partner… Anyway, I have an appointment with Dr. C on the 21st.

My comp hearing took place on Wednesday. What a complete waste of time that was. Instead of a judge, a conciliator was in attendance. All my attorney did was request a hearing with a judge. I didn’t say a single word, and it was over in two minutes. Now I have to wait to find out when the real hearing will take place – probably in 4 to 5 weeks. Very heavy sigh.

I’m leaving for Rhode Island tomorrow, and will be away until the following Friday. I can’t wait to get out of here, away from all the bureaucratic BS.

See you when I get back.

Song of the Day: Red Tape by Agent Provocateur

7 Responses to “Wrapped Up in Red Tape”

  1. I hope you have a peaceful, relaxing time in Rhode Island. Say “hi” to the ocean for me!

  2. Bex said

    And the beat goes on… trying to discover a diagnosis is one of the all time longest procedures known to man, right up there with trying to teach a 4 month old puppy what NOT to chew up!

    Have fun.

  3. goatbarnwitch said

    Have a great time!!

  4. Have a wonderful trip, you deserve it.

  5. Sunday said

    Gah! See, THIS is why I hate doctors (and lawyers…) Dr. A tells you to see Dr. B., and none of them will actually tell you what’s wrong with you, if they know themselves.

    That workers comp “hearing” annoys me. What was the point of clearing your schedule to sit for 2 minutes, only to have to go back later? I’m beginning to think that these people do this on purpose just because they can.

    Have fun in RI! In fact, have so much fun that you forget all about your troubles!

  6. Joan said

    Hope you have a wonderful and relaxing vacation!

  7. kitchenlogic said

    Have a great trip and don’t think about all that nastiness while you’re gone!

Leave a Reply

