A Shot in the Arm

July 17, 2007

I had two doctor appointments yesterday. In the morning, I saw my primary care physician. He gave me a requisition for blood work, to include screening for diabetes. The blood work is scheduled for tomorrow morning at 7:30, and it requires that I fast for fourteen hours. I’ll be at the lab for 2 and ½ hours. What fun!

Yesterday afternoon’s appointment was with my rheumatologist. I was telling her about my shoulder problems, and she talked me into getting a cortisone shot. She advised me that I might feel worse before I feel better, but I was unprepared for just how much worse I felt after the injection.

By evening, I was in agony. I couldn’t bear to move my arm at all. The pain isn’t so bad this morning, thank goodness. Still, I thought about skipping physical therapy, but because of my insane schedule lately, I haven’t been to PT in a couple of weeks. I’d better get back to the old grind before it becomes even more difficult to do so.

One more thing – I finally got a hearing date for my Worker’s Comp case. Wish me luck on August 8th!

Song of the Day: The Needle and the Damage Done by Neil Young

2 Responses to “A Shot in the Arm”

  1. lisele said

    Wow, it is shocking how slow and complicated Worker’s Comp is. I understand that is how socialized medicine works too. I hope we never end up with that in this country.

  2. lisele said

    Ewww, what a waste of an iPhone!!! I love my iPhone 😦
    Hope things go well with your date. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

