Got Milk?

June 12, 2007

Last Friday, My Friend took me out to dinner as thanks for my assistance in grading her students’ final projects. I’ve been bothered by something she told me ever since. Apparently, some people at work are talking about my lengthy absence, and not in a sympathetic manner. The term “milking it” was used.

I know I shouldn’t care what others think or say. However, this insensitivity to “invisible  disabilities” DOES rankle, and it DOES hurt.

I hate to beat a dead horse, but these are the facts.  Pain wakes me from my sleep several times a week. I have great difficulty sitting up, getting out of bed, and walking because the pain is so intense in the morning. It takes a couple of hours before I can move around more easily. My legs throb and ache. I can’t stand comfortably for longer than 15 minutes at a time.

The pain is not just in my lower back; it is also present in both buttocks/hips, and sometimes wraps around the side of my torso. (It feels like a cramp in that area.) I experience tingling in my feet, along with the throbbing and aching in my legs.

All of the above is in reference to the lumbar spine injury/herniated disc/sciatica. Besides that, I also suffer from Degenerative Disc Disease, Fibromyalgia (and related chronic fatigue), intractable headaches (the bane of my existence), and bulging discs with nerve entrapment in my cervical spine. I have problems with my feet, and will probably have to undergo hammertoe surgery. And, let’s not forget the recent addition of the cyst, spur, fluid and tear of the rotator cuff in my right shoulder.

How much pain can a person be expected to bear up under? 

Song of the Day:  Milk It by Nirvana

One Response to “Got Milk?”

Leave a Reply

